Saturday, November 26, 2022
HomeNEWSMarco Jansen replaces Dwaine Pretorius in South Africa 2022 T20 World Cup...

Marco Jansen replaces Dwaine Pretorius in South Africa 2022 T20 World Cup squad

Pretorius had fractured his left thumb in the third T20I against India, which was South Africa’s only win in the three-match series. Jansen, 22, who was only part of the T20I squad for the tour, then replaced Pretorius for the ODI leg before being named for the T20 World Cup, which starts on October 16 in Australia.

Jansen made his T20I debut in South Africa’s tour to India in June earlier this year. He trapped Shreyas Iyer lbw for his maiden wicket and was taken for 38 runs off his four overs. That’s the only T20I he has played so far. He has also played seven Tests and three ODIs for South Africa.

Wayne Parnell, Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada and Lungi Ngidi are the other seam-bowling options in the South Africa side for the tournament apart from Jansen.

South Africa open their campaign on October 24 against one of the qualifying sides from the first round.

Updated squad: Temba Bavuma (capt), Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs

Reserves: Bjorn Fortuin, Andile Phehlukwayo, Lizaad Williams

Source link



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular